top of page

Harry Potter: First contact


I promised that in Legilimens I would let you inside my mind to share my memories, thoughts, knowledge and emotions about Harry Potter. I have been wondering for a long time about the first memory that you would share with you. I thought about the time that I visited the Studios Tour in London, the time that I saw the first movie, the time that I watched the last movie or even about the time that I saw Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. All of them made some impact in my life and all of them are little treasures to me but I decided that I would like to start from the begin. How did Harry Potter enter my life? I used to spend a lot of time on my hometown public library. I'm from Guimarães - Portugal and Biblioteca Municipal Raul Brandão was an incredible place (still is) full of books, nice people, knowledge and activities. I used to spend my school vacations there and some time after school every time that I could. It was there that I used the computer for the first time. It was there that I watched a movie projected into a big wall for the first time. It was there that I discovered that dragons aren't real and I cried like a baby. It was there that I developed my reading skills. It was there that I was introduced to one of the most special things of my life: Harry Potter. I have a lot to

It is funny but I just found out that this magic place celebrated its 25th birthday on the same day that I released the website. This is so great. Happy birthday Biblioteca Municipal Raul Brandão.

Returning to Harry Potter... I usually say that I didn't found Harry Potter but that Harry Potter found me. One afternoon after school I was looking around to something new to read when my eyes stopped in a pink book with a broom with a owl and some boys feet. I was 10 and a lot into witches - I had visited a little city on Spain with a lot of witch folklore and I was fascinated - so I decided to take it home with me. It took me a long time to read the first pages. It was full of english names and terms that I was not familiar with it and it seemed difficult to me to keep the interest. I'm Portuguese and our translators usually maintain the original terms and names. It was difficult, I admit. I remember to read one paragraph an put the book down, start again and read a phrase and put the book down again. On and off I was. I must had read the first page of the book more than 20 times but by the time that Harry was boarding the Hogwarts Express I was hooked.

I was totally involved in this magic world. I had been wishing for so long for a new life, for something special to happen that make my life change completely... And it happened to this boy - with the same age that I had at the time. He was a Wizard. His life was about to change (and so as mine). I just couldn't stop reading... I loved his friends, his amazing school and even his teachers (I never understood how they didn't like Snape - everything pointed to him so it was to obvious if he end up being the bad guy). I wanted to be a witch so badly... I never became one, I never found out that I had special powers but every time that I opened this books I was a witch, I had magic powers and I was a student a Hogwarts.It was like having friends. How was your first contact with the Harry Potter universe? Share it with me in the comments. I would love to know!

bottom of page